This symposium has been postponed due

to the worldwide COVID-19 epidemic. 

Stay tuned for an announcement about ISOCS-29 in summer of 2022

On behalf of the International Organizing Committee, I cordially invite you to participate in the first ever International Symposium on the Organic Chemistry of Sulfur held in Canada! The University of Guelph will serve as the venue for an invigorating week of scientific and social interaction....and a trip to Niagara Falls.

ISOCS symposia are prestigious international scientific events that have been scheduled biannually since 1964 (Liblice, Czechoslovakia) mostly across Europe and Japan. Attracting attendees from industry, government, and academia, past symposia have covered a fascinating range of sulfur chemistry from theory to practical applications.

ISOCS-29 will be based on the following themes:  

  • Sulfur in Biochemistry and Health                                                   

  • Sulfur Containing Heterocycles 

  • Synthesis, Catalysis and Stereochemistry                                        

  • Sensors, Analysis and Interfaces

  • Materials Chemistry                                                                             

  • Coordination Chemistry with Sulfur Ligands

  • Theory, Mechanism & Reactive Intermediates                               

  • Industrial Sulfur Chemistry 

Stay tuned for future announcements.

Please email:

if you wish to be added to the mailing list

Adrian L. Schwan

Chair, ISOCS-29

Plenary Speakers

Prof. Ruma Banerjee

University of Michigan


Prof. Kei Goto

Tokyo Institute of



Prof. Jinbo Hu

Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry


Prof. Emanuela Licandro

University of Milan


Prof. Derek Pratt

University of Ottawa


Prof. Samir Zard

École Polytechnique

Paris, France

Invited Speakers

Prof. Thomas Back

University of Calgary


Prof. James Bull
Prof. Kate Carroll

Scripps, Florida


Prof. Noureddine Khiar

University of Seville


Prof. Mario Leclerc
Prof. Anita Maguire

University College Cork


Dr. Nastaran Salehi Marzijarani
Prof. Marcel Mayor
Prof. Stefano Menichetti
Prof. Daniel Werz


Universitat Braunschweig


Prof. Hideki Yorimitsu

Kyoto University


Prof. Zhengbiao Zhang